Rainbow-Gazing

Love, perhaps, is also the only entity in existence, that makes things happen without fail. Positive things, negative things. Things that make this world what it is today. How can love be a mere entity? It is an entire world.

People’s days begin and end with one or the other form of love — love for coffee, sex, wife, mother, conquest, money, painting, gardening, gun-toting, Christmas carols. Who knows the form in which it enters the mind, and indeed heart, of a person and takes over their being. When you love, you also hate. If you love a mug of coffee in the morning, you hate a morning without a mug of coffee. When you love red socks, you hate it when you find only yellow ones to buy. Such intricate web of emotional adventure it conjures!

Does a love for a person also cause some kind of hatred? When you love a person, do you also hate them? Or something else? What is that something? Their absence? Their suffering, perhaps. Sometimes the thwarting of your expectations, too. Love, I think, makes you feel a vibrant range of things. If it were to make a rainbow of all that it can produce in you, the result might succeed in blinding your eyes.

Like you, I love. Like you, I hate as a consequence. Is there an escape? Is one needed?

With feather and mouth

4 thoughts on “Rainbow-Gazing”

  1. Finally your posts are showing up in my Reader! I’m so happy! As for love bringing with it, hate. I don’t know. I think probably what it is, is that love is such a strong emotion that it opens up the senses to other strong emotions.

    I love your photo. Beautiful. 🙂

    1. That’s exactly it, I think. Love’s strength opens up unexplored boundaries and territories.
      This is Monster. Our fish in our old home. We had to give him away because such a long journey might have been very bad for his health. He grew up to epic proportions.
      I wonder why my posts don’t show up. The whole world hates me!

Leave a Reply

