So Rests a Lover

Maths was never my strong point, so I do not know anything much about the Fibonacci series, except that nature has magically created this world, using it as a delectable condiment. Regardless, I am quite interested in trying out the Fibonacci poetry form, affectionately called the Fib. A Fib takes its form from the Fibonacci. To quote Shaping Words, from where I occasionally sift out my poetry inspirations:  “The six line form is: 1 – 1 – 2 – 3 – 5 – 8.  The seven line form is 1 – 1 – 2 – 3 – 5 – 8 – 13.  It is an opended form, but the six line and seven line forms are the most frequent.

November 23 was the Fibonacci day. I missed it, but anyhow, I am going to attempt a Fib today — with the seven line form. Before I begin, though, let me tell you that the numbers can be syllables, or words in your poem. I am choosing to include them as words today.

*

So Rests a Lover

*

*

Loving

Arms.

Shaking, trembling.

Wherefore its anticipation?

Time has ridden on slumber.

And on lead-legged bull of crafty defiance, too.

Each sinew is waking, memorising bygones, before an embrace makes amends. Onward, lover!

18 thoughts on “So Rests a Lover”

  1. Well, for the life of me I can’t see the significance of the numbers. 1 – 1 – 2 – 3 – 5 – 8 – 13….oh, wait. I just got it! I am so math challenged, but I see the pattern now. You are so fearless. Well done.

    1. Isn’t it wonderful how Nature has planned her objects to follow this pattern? It’s almost like she has a personal maths tutor to ensure there is precision in it. Lovely.
      I am more of a reckless fool than fearless, Linda.

  2. The Fibonacci numbers pop up in so many different aspects of the world. It’s a true mystery. I’m not surprised that someone has thought to adapt them to poetry. Most, I’m sure, couldn’t do it as masterfully as you. I especially like the opposing forces in this poem: loving arms that shake and tremble, time riding on slumber and a defiantly crafty bull, addressing bygones and looking ahead. Delicious, again!

        1. I like to ‘throw’ words sometimes (shhh, don’t tell), but mostly, I like to create them. Perhaps this author had an instant of glorious ambition while choosing the name?

          I just read the description. The central character is too ill for me, I think.

  3. I learned about the Etheree form of poetry from you, and now you’re teaching us about the Fibonacci. I’m also math challenged and it took me a few minutes to get the pattern. Too clever.
    Love the poem – as always some beautiful word pictures. Interesting to see “a bull of crafty defiance” a few lines after “Loving Arms”

    1. Yes, it is interesting to see how people change in just a few lines! But only when either they’ve changed for the good, or they are of no concern to you.

      I hope to write more Fibonacci. Explore the world of ‘new’ poetry more.

  4. Although I like math, but I too hate this Fibonacci series. I hate it as much as I hate that whole pointer concept of “C” programming. 🙂 But I never ever imagined that someone could use it in such a way. Beautifully done. As always I loved this poem. I am going to give this a try someday for sure.

    1. I like this gravatar of yours, Arindam. It effectively showcases your honest eyes.

      I am a complete dunce with programming. Although I remember being excited when I could create ‘buttons’. But that’s a long time ago.
      The Fibonacci series fascinates me mainly because of its repeated occurrence in nature. It is so wonderful! Do try the poem form when you have time.

      1. But when my mom who is in US now, saw this picture on the back cover of the book she did not like it. She said, she would have preferred to see me in a clean-shaved look. Now who can argue with our Indian mothers. 🙂

        By the way, when are you going to publish the kindle version of your book?

          1. No it’s not that much difficult actually. If you want then I send you a document in your mail id; which is going to describe how to do it, step by step. You just have to follow those steps. But yes it’s bit time consuming if you have pictures in your book, just like I’ve.
            But sure you can do it and it surely helps in reaching to a larger group of people as it lower the book costs and also there is no shipping charge.

          2. Yes, I’ve that mail id which is attached to your wordpress account! I am sending you that doc just now. Check it. It will help you a lot.
            And yes, I will tell my mom; but it’s really difficult convince her that I am looking like a good boy in that pic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

