Publishing a book — the untold technical side

Dear Reader,

I published a book two days back. While I secretly (and sometimes publicly) gloat over this mild accomplishment, let me tell you it isn’t mild at all. First, when you are absolutely new to the publisher’s site (in my case CreateSpace), you don’t know how to carry out even the smallest of tasks. For instance, finding a decent copy of your book’s cover.

By decent I mean the one in which they also publish the ISBN code. At any rate, if you do know how to right click and copy and save a picture, you will be able to copy and paste the preview of your book cover (without the ISBN) and show it to eager friends. I keep doing it all the while these days.

Also goes without a mention is that it is frustratingly difficult to find a decent way to provide a preview to your eager friends. So, the best thing is to make a pdf out of the best pages of your book (if there are any. If there aren’t, just pick up a random set of numbers, like I did), make a pdf and upload it in the Preview section of the good publisher’s site. They make it available for the ones who get roped in, and send you the address for you to make viral (ugh, I do hate the expression, but it’s a certain word I’ve been dreaming of since the day before). Mine is slightly average, the address. Here.

When I found that my book is ready for purchase, dear reader, my mind began racing with the idea of holding it in my hands before you did (should you choose to buy it, of course). So, I ordered a copy. Since I live in a land, which is not mapped in the Easy Shipping Map of the world, I shall receive my book in January, 2013. On January 7, 2013 to be exact. So, should you purchase my book, and open its physical copy before I do, please tell me how it feels. I am dying to know.

More about that, the feeling, and the dying to know is available at my other blog.

Note: The book is also available at the CreateSpace EStore. Should you choose to buy it, of course.

Now I must go and gloat a little more.

Be well, dear reader. You are precious.

30 thoughts on “Publishing a book — the untold technical side”

    1. Thank you, Sandra. It costs a fortune to get it shipped to India! Maybe someday, when it is a huge bestseller, and publishers line up to print, that day you can buy it from a bookstore. Let’s say Amen to that!

      1. Shucks. I just typed a long comment, and it’s gone.

        Anyway, I wanted to know if amazon/create space are the only two options to buy? That just makes me sad, now, I am intending to find other books from amazon, as their shipping charges are crazy. Not only must your Indian readers wait for eons, but also pay more for shipping if they want it quick. Okay, let’s forget the rant, read your preview there, and I can see so much of your heart already there. And yes, may some publisher pick it up and publish it soon 🙂

        To your patience, love, and the discerning mind that’s on constant quest!

  1. January 7th?! Wow, Priya. Good thing you are patient. (smile) I’ll do my best to tell you how it looks and feels when I receive my copy. Perhaps I’ll have Rob take a picture of me reading it.

  2. *Nel’s heart is racing*

    I was thinking about when you and Rangewriter will be publishing a book just a few minutes ago (Time Check: 5:55 in the morning in Cebu). I’m truly thrilled for you, Priya. So, this book is print-per-order like BB55’s? Or is there a e-book version?

    *Nel now pondering how to get a copy*

    Kudos, my friend. 🙂

    1. To be in your thoughts even though it is not 6am yet, is a blissful feeling, Nel. 😀

      There isn’t an ebook version, unfortunately. This is print-on-demand. Us people in the far reaches of the world just might have to wait for the shipping costs to be a little more wholesome! Thank you for wanting to buy it. That makes me equally happy.

  3. I’m so proud of you Priya. What an amazing accomplishment – to give birth to a baby and a book in the same year. 🙂
    When you first told us about the book I went to the site, but it wasn’t ready for purchase (something to do with the cover I think?). I checked now – it’s ready. Looks really lovely 🙂
    I’ll also have to take a photo of me and the book.
    love
    rosie

      1. I have your book in my hands Priya, but I’m not gloating, I’m just proud. Mr F took a photo of me clutching the book but I don’t know how to post photos here. I’ll email it to you.

        Congratulations, it’s lovely, really lovely 🙂 When I opened it at random it opened to a page on “Love”, which gave me warm fuzzies because your dedication was “For Love”.

  4. I never thought about how much it would cost for you to ship books printed here in the States to you in India. I’m sort of surprised CS doesn’t have another print facility on the other side of the globe. Were you not able to order a proof of your book? How scary to go “public” before holding your babe in your hands. I’m sure it will be a big hit.

    1. It is a big hit already! SEVEN sold. 😀 I am so happy.

      I could have ordered a printed proof, but it would have taken weeks, or maybe a month to reach me. I do not have that much patience, unfortunately. I hope I haven’t subjected you to tacky trash.

  5. There’s no way it will take that long to reach you, Priya. It’ll arrive in December, I’m sure. But I’ll still have it before you do. (Gloating is contagious, and you taught me well.)

  6. Big congrats to you. 🙂 It was a great news. I was wondering when are you going to publish your first book. Can’t wait to read it. Are you in talk with any Indian publishers regarding its publication in India? That will be great for people like me who can’t wait to read your book.

    1. I do not know about making it available to readers in India, Arindam. What are the options? E-book? I’d perhaps turn it into an e-book, yes. When I do, I shall let you know! Thank you for your kindness. And don’t forget, I am waiting for yours!

      Oh, have I missed its launch?!

      1. What I know is that, if you do not want to publish with any Indian publishers here, then you may pay 25$ for the expanded distribution in createspace. So that after six months your book will be available in Jungle.com. It’s the Indian store of amazon. Although I am not completely sure how it works.
        And yes, I am going to publish my book this weekend in USA and by next month it will be available here.

      2. What I know is that, if you do not want to publish with any Indian publishers here, then you may pay 25$ for the expanded distribution in createspace. So that after six months your book will be available in Jungle.com. It’s the Indian store of amazon. Although I am not completely sure how it works.
        And yes, I am going to publish my book this weekend in USA and by next month it will be available here.

        1. This is interesting bit of information, Arindam! Thank you. Waiting for this weekend, then!

          I might take you up on more info later, for I do want to make it available to the Indians in India! Since yours is going to be available within a month, you must be taking a different path.

  7. Yayyy, so happy for you, dear Priya, well done! Take a bow, my dear, and go on, gloat as much as you want, you’re allowed…so proud of you! Kudos oodles.. 😀

  8. I am thinking I’ll say, “Have you read the book, you know, the new bestseller…yeah, that one.. my friend Priya worte it.”
    They’ll say, “really, she is your friend.”
    Then I will puff up – emotional and all…

    Congratulations!!! You are so fabulous. A new baby, a new book.. what major streams to cross. I just saw it on Amazon. It’s a five star!!

Leave a Reply

