How to make mint tea without killing its colour?

Years ago, I went to Leh via Manali. Both are beautiful towns amidst the Himalayas. Both have their own, unique charm — Manali a valley with enthusiasm, Leh a valley with intense resilience.

The drive between the two places is something out of this world. The terrain changes every 50 km, from Martian to Himalayan to more heavenly-an. Trite jokes apart, it is a trip worth taking.

Not the least for the mint tea at the roadside stalls.

Now that winter is come, I got reminded once again of this divine drink. But try as I may, I cannot make it like they did there. Bright green in colour, sweetened just right to enhance the lemon and tingly mint. Juliennes of ginger. Simply mmm. How does one get that colour without any additive? How does one steep mint without making it bitter? Do you know? Will you tell me?

And while you’re thinking, look at some of these gorgeous pictures from the region I picked up from the huge internet. Someday, when I can, I’ll post mine.

4 thoughts on “How to make mint tea without killing its colour?”

  1. The photos are wonderful! As for the mint, here’s an interesting little side note. My favorite ice cream flavor is mint chocolate chip. It’s usually a terrible green color, and the mint flavor is good, but not quite like fresh mint.

    Not long ago I was introduced to mint chocolate chip gelato, made by a company named Talenti. (They’re in Texas, not Italy!) The color is just gorgeous, a light, icy green, and the flavor is exactly the flavor of mint. I looked at the description on the container, and discovered both the color and flavor are from fresh mint – they don’t use any coloring or flavoring apart from that.

    Maybe I’ll get some mint (ours still is growing) and mess around with your tea!

    1. The place is wonderful, too, Linda. Your appreciation has motivated me to scan mine and post them soon as well. Those were the days of the good old manual SLR.

      I haven’t eaten gelato much, but I believe its ingredients are ‘fresher’ than those of ice creams. Am I right? If so, I think I am going to like them more!

      Do try the tea. I’ve looked for convincing recipes online, but haven’t found any, sadly. Even as I write, I am tempted to go and try making some again, it’s so good.

      I used to enjoy your comments here, and now I am grateful for them, too. Thank you.

  2. I would think that the colour is due to the mint leaves being young and fresh as old mint tends to go darker and discolour. Also many mint teas are actually made with spearmint rather than peppermint as many people think. Perhaps it is that?

    I keep coming here Priya and seeing your sticky post and forgetting to look below it for the new posts. Might it be an idea to remove the sticky now?

    1. Perhaps it is the difference in the variety of mint, yes. I have peppermint and spearmint both in my garden, but none seem to want to oblige.

      I have changed the sticky post since your message, Val. Thank you for this very helpful feedback. I ‘stuck’ it there mainly because I didn’t want people to come here thinking that I’d be the normally courteous me — returning visits often. Much as I want to, I can’t!

      Also, this and the other blog both need desperate change of colour (this especially). Hopefully soon!

Leave a Reply

