Of new beginnings

Nature has a way of ending endings, and letting newness begin a circle of apparent endlessness. When a seed sprouts into green, fragile little wisps, it doesn’t leave any room for thought towards the plant that supplied the seed, or indeed towards the inevitable end of circle that awaits the sapling. All that is visible and tangible is the fresh, vulnerable tendril of new life.

A plant is just one of the numerous examples of life taking over the dreariness of life.

Look around you, there is an advancement of the circle everywhere β€” that old man driving his car after recovering from a fractured shoulder, this newborn baby claiming her mother’s attention just as her mother asked for her parents’, that little seal pup nudging its mother for another fishy feast. It’s all right here — life, and its wondrous circle. It begins even before you can say it’s an end.

53 thoughts on “Of new beginnings”

    1. I am looking at your Gravatar as I write this, Darla. You look positively radiant. That itself is a sign that the Dreariness is just a moment — but the Life isn’t. Hope you’ve had a beautiful day.

      1. Priya, just visiting your blog, seeing your radiant face and reading your words and thoughtful comments always manages to turn my day into more of a beautiful one. You have that gift and I thank you!

  1. Beautiful piece of writing, Priya, and one that can be interpreted on many different levels. Here’s a question it caused in my mind. I have a plant that I’ve had for almost thirty years. In that time, all of the leaves and stems have died and been replaced by new ones. So is it the same plant, or not?

    1. The answer, I suppose, lies not in the plant itself — but in how you see it. To me, it sounds like the same one, metamorphosed into something that has the same roots, but a crisper face.

  2. Wonderful post!!
    “Life unfolds another life… just at the right time.. to give a new meaning to life”
    I have to read this one few times to get the real thought behind this & i hope i got it right.

    1. You got it just the way I thought of it, Arindam! Thank you.

      Having said that, I don’t think why it shouldn’t mean something completely different either.

      1. Yes this post of your can be interpreted in lots of ways. I do not have the actual number how many times i read this one. Every time i read it, i got a different meaning in it. Thanks a lot for making us think not only while writing our own posts but also reading posts like this one. I am really happy that i am among one of your blog subscribers. πŸ™‚

  3. Like She’s a Maineac, I needed this post today, too. I’m searching for some newness, for a beginning, but I wonder if it’s lying under some dead stuff. Do I just need to push the dead leaves and twigs away? Do I need to plant in a different part of the yard? I don’t know. This at least I know – I don’t see an end – I feel beginnings on their way. I just can’t get to them yet. Thank you, dearest Priya.

    1. The beginnings will arrive yet, Jean. Wait a while, listen to the rustle and twang of dried leaves and twigs in the meanwhile. They make good music, of sorts.

      Much love.

      1. I will take your advice – starting today, I’m going to do more listening than talking.
        Much love here back, Priya.

  4. Your post reminds me of an photo I saw in the September/October issue of the Sierra club’s Magazine. Unfortunately I don’t know how to place photos in comments – it look’s as though a child’s bike is riding through a tree.
    The comment under the photo “Decades ago, a child chained a bicycle to a tree on Washington’s Vashon Island. The tree unperturbed, grew around the bike.”
    http://www.sierraclub.org/sierra/201109/lastwords.aspx

    1. “The tree unperturbed, grew around the bike.” How very pithy. I will keep thinking about this sentence and the image for a while now, Rosie. Thank you.

        1. Of course I did!

          I had a lovesome Diwali, thank you. Diyas (clay lamps), light, laddoos (a sweet made of various things. I used bengal gram flour for mine. It’s called besan ka laddoo, and it’s delicious).

  5. Priya, your words are beautiful and thought provoking, as usual. The picture really brings it home, for me.
    I find myself mesmerized by the picture, trying to bring it into focus. Then the words appear in my head, and I am able to visualize the picture coming into focus… something new, different and fascinating each and every time.

    1. I didn’t think the picture could be seen as a tool to aid visualization, Lenore! Now that I try to do the same, I see what you mean. Thank you for the new perspective. One learns!

  6. The part that is so sweet about new beginnings, Priya, is that, like a phoenix, they have risen from the richness of the past. Could I please have some of that “same roots, crisper face” stuff? πŸ˜€

    1. Only if you have been tending to a plant for the last 30 years, Amy! πŸ™‚

      P.S. You know it’s yours already, don’t you?

  7. very well written priya. and very true indeed. i liked the term apparent endlessness a lot. we do take our existence for granted. wonderful πŸ™‚

    1. We do take it for granted, don’t we? And yet, like most things, it is just an image, not the real object.

      Hope your Diwali was fun!

  8. Another reminder to approach every day as another opportunity to see with fresh, clear eyes, some beautiful detail that was missed in the days before. Thanks. We can’t be reminded of this often enough.

  9. I am ready for some new beginnings. And yet, as I look over the last year, I’ve already been experiencing several endings and subsequent (or consequent) new beginnings. I must be greedy. But new beginnings are so fun and so necessary when you’re mired in the middle of life. Thanks for the post and the reminder of the beauty of new beginnings and the hope that they are always, always occurring.

    1. Greed can be a fun thing, too, I’ve noticed! If you crave new beginnings, life within life, you are, in fact, living! Such fun, wouldn’t you say?!

  10. What a beautiful post Priya…you capture the magic and hope of the circle of life…a circle of apparent endlessness…lovely! We have to strive to live each day knowing we are part of this…wondrous circle….truly a blessed gift….
    Hope you had a wonderful time celebrating Deepavali…

    1. It is easy to forget, is it not? That we are all a part of this wondrous circle?

      I had a quiet, lovesome Diwali, Shama. Just the way I like it.
      Eid’s round the corner, and I hope you have a lovesome one, too!

  11. Short, sweet, simple, and so touching. What a beautiful post. Every now and then we all need a gentle reminder to take a look at the circle of life. Thank you.

    I remember standing in the hallway at my old house, looking at my father, holding my son, and thinking: The circle of life has never been more evident. There I was. Right in the middle.

    Thank you for bringing back that image, and for causing me to spend a moment of reflection in a busy day. Well worth it, and I thank you.

    1. Happy to know that this brought back such a precious memory, Melissa. All one needs is to remember such moments and know that life, and hence its bounties, will never end!

Leave a Reply

