Balancing Evil

 
 

The world seems to be in a turmoil — broken promises, ravaged egos, savaged cities, disintegrating economies, lonely lives. It probably will never cease to be in turmoil.

While going through my archives for the umpteenth time, I came across this old post of mine, which I think quite fits many states of minds in today’s tumultuous times.

 

*

When I see myself being subjected to unfair treatment, I feel a surge of anger that refuses to let up unless I remind myself that this temporary feeling may permanently blot the wholesome ones.

*


The original post was also called Balancing evil, and was posted on September 7, 2010.

I’ve been wanting to reblog some of my old posts just because they are very dear to me, and I’d like them to see the light of readership. I had begun this blog with some photographs turned into wallpapers with ambitious messages, and some small notes to myself. This particular post was a note to myself — a reminder I like to see from time to time, not just because I can succumb to anger, but because I know the world does, too, and it is a sort of small consolation to also know that there are consequences the world will face when it does, in fact, disbalance evil.

If I become too greedy, I’ll reblog one post a day, or go as my mood dictates.

13 thoughts on “Balancing Evil”

  1. It’s unfortunate, Priya, but this post explains all too well what’s going on in many parts of the world. When we respond to injustice with yet more injustice, we may feel temporary satisfaction, but bigger problems await. The only solution is to put aside our natural impulses. But how? An irrational state of mind has no memory of the rational one. Our only hope is to remind each other, as you have done here.

    1. If they are our natural impulses, Charles, why were they made so irrational? Or who, over time, told us to see certain things as rational and certain as irrational?

      I’ve been having a steady debate with my husband about breach of proper conduct and ‘justified retaliation’, which has picked heat in the last few days. It might seem at a quick glance that to reply back to dishonour, to put the perpetrator in their place with a scare more grave than they have, will even out the evil. But, to my mulish head, it seems a bit too suicidal. Where does it end, then?

      And yet, we are just another bunch of animals in this jungle, and the law of the jungle talks of survival of the defensive. Or the ones that defend with offence. And that sounds horrendous in its mildest avatar.

      Have you noticed the sudden lack of clarity in everything I say these days? It’s scary, the amount of contradiction I have in my head.

  2. The United States and the Soviet Union risked World War Three and the deaths of millions because each side was convinced it might be destroyed by the other. As they produced more and more weapons, their prophecy nearly became self-fulfilling. You’re right about the law of the jungle: our strongest instinct is to survive. But your seeming lack of clarity is, I think, a result of your awareness that these are complex problems that will require people to think in complex ways. If there were easy answers, we wouldn’t be talking about this right now. Your contradictions have value.

    1. You do know you make me happy with these words, don’t you?

      But that still doesn’t stop me from wondering if this search for solution we — me and thousands of spun-minded people like me — is inconsequential after all. The complexity of this degradation is like devil’s two-pronged weapon: it is improbable that a solution can be found in our lifetime, and it is probable that many of us will either lose our minds, or feel inconsolably impotent.

  3. So very wise, Priya. Our negative feelings do put up a dam against goodness and our authentic selves. When I am stinging, I do have to acknowledge my feelings and not repress them. Otherwise, they fester and rot – plaguing me for ages.

    Releasing feelings healthily is a subject missed on most curricula. We’re certainly seeing that all over the world.

    I blogged today about getting angry. I don’t think I released it all that well, but I could not allow someone to repeatedly misquote and misrepresent me.

    Surprisingly, I can pray for the person as I do have compassion for her fear levels.

    1. Getting angry is the easiest thing to do, is it not? It’d be an interesting project to see how many people’s first reaction to injustice is ‘constructive’ anger. It is an essential emotion, surely. But how many can pray for the person like you can, Amy?

  4. Hello Priya,

    When too much negativity surrounds me, I try to remember a phrase which has helped me on my way.. its “This too shall pass”, I know its very cliched, but still it has helped me realize the fragile nature of our existences and let time calm down me and my surroundings.. 🙂 May be it will help you too.

    I hope you are over your contradictions.

    Peace.

    1. Antony, thank you for coming here and bringing in a little peace from Fragile Prints. I instantly got transported to the world your Mission Statement wishes to create. You’re already on your way, and how!

      I have heard my mind saying This Too Shall Pass often, and it does help me, perhaps because I do not feel much flustered with the goings on around me. Sometimes, though, I am forced to wonder if the passing will bring in additional abysses. But then again, time claiming its right is quite a natural process. 🙂

      Peace to you, as well.

  5. I struggle with these thoughts often, Priya. I echo what souldipper said. I feel it’s important to recognize anger for what is, a fleeting emotion. Powerful, but not constant (if we choose) Accepting that helps in separating your true self from it, therefore you can hopefully rise above that feeling so it doesn’t sit and fester over time. I recently read a wonderful book by Thich Nhat Hanh titled “Anger”. And here are some of his thoughts on the subject:
    http://www.shambhalasun.com/index.php?option=content&task=view&id=1756

    1. Dear Darla,

      Thank you for introducing me to Thich Nhat Hanh. I’ve often heard of him, but never read or listened to this thoughts. From what I see in the link, I am sure it’s going to do me a world of good.

      There is hope in this world after all, when there are people such as yourself to make it glimmer amidst chaos.

  6. Priya, I love getting lost in your words (and the words of Charles). The two of you are so eloquent. The words the two of you use are amazing. And, the fact that I am amazed may speak to my lack of words. (smile)

    I believe I’ve shared this thought before: Anger is like nails in a fence. You hammer the nails into the fence with a fierce frustration. Once you feel better, you remove the nails. Unfortunately, the nails leave holes. Like you mentioned, permanently blotting wholesome thoughts, friends, emotions, etc.

    I have a temper. I’m not proud of that fact. I struggle with my temper, knowing I risk damaging myself and others (emotionally).

    The fact of the matter is – hate, sadness, anger, etc. are the easier emotions. Smiling takes effort. Being grateful takes effort. Love takes effort. Still, putting forth an effort yields the best results. We need to work harder on making the effort – we are worth it.

    1. I agree with you completely, Lenore. It is very easy to get angry, or sad, or feel hatred. But what do they accomplish? Nailed holes?

      With these positive thoughts of yours, I have no doubt you are accomplishing a great deal already in nursing peace and wholesomeness around you. We need more like you!

Leave a Reply

