Rain

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

15 thoughts on “Rain”

    1. Layla is now with my parents, Rosie. She loves water. This picture was taken last year at my parents’ place. I’ll someday show you more of her. 🙂 She’s a darling.

  1. I love looking at them as a slideshow. I don’t know that much about photography, but I like the way you’ve alternated the shots from close-ups to distance, and from dark and light to brilliant color. The photos also made me think about how the rain we perceive in relation to ourselves is a different experience for each recipient of that rain. This is a beautiful follow-up to “Blighted.”

    1. I find it amazing how easy it is to think of something from one’s own perspective, and yet expect the others to just the opposite. 🙂

      Rain in regions close to the equator is like sunshine for people closer to the poles or closer to the clouds. The day I wrote Blighted, the earth was desolate and thirsty. It rained the next day. And everything turned around. The pleasures of nature are inimitable, Charles.

  2. Thanks to BB for mentioning the “Blighted” post because I somehow missed it. I love your haiku and photo but couldn’t leave a comment because the “comments were closed”. So leaving one here.

    1. Thank you, Rosie. Your words are always full of such kindness, I’d never think of ‘closing the comments’. But that post somehow was meant to be that way.

      I love the way you take out time and show interest. The people around you are very lucky.

  3. Did you add new pictures? There are about six I don’t remember seeing before. And there’s one with an orange stripe running horizontally across what looks like slate. What is the stripe?

    “Rain in regions close to the equator is like sunshine for people closer to the poles.” These photographs have helped me understand that. Thank you.

    1. Yes, I did. (How did you notice?) It rained again today.
      The grey-green stone is slate and the orange/yellow strip is limestone.

      Thank you for caring.

      1. Oh my word BB I’m so glad you noticed the additions. I love the new pictures Priya. It’s very calming and grounding to sit and watch your slide show. Just watch it a few times and you’re meditating without knowing it.

  4. “meditating without knowing it” — I just noticed it, Rosie. You are right! All one needs to do is to look at life’s pictures to meditate.

    PS: You make me love you more with each kind comment you leave here.

  5. I’ve just spent a half-hour scrolling through the slideshow endless number of times. The first scroll-through I got a sense of what photos you posted, then each time after that I focused in on the specifics, then finally which ones appealed to my own sense of the aesthetic. I’m partial, or perhaps I should say, I have a “Partial View” for the gate with the lock. Mysterious. But the pink carnation is bright and pops right out at you.

    You have a great eye for detail and a wonderful talent with the lens. Thank you for ending my Sunday on such a graceful note.

    1. Thank you for all that you’ve written here, EOS. But mostly, thank you for noticing the gate with the lock. It is my favourite here as well. Could you also see the slanting raindrops taken in quick shutter speed to show them like a rain of arrows? If yes, I am proud of myself. If not, well, one can’t have it all. 🙂

      There is still so much to learn. It is frustrating to see I am making the same mistakes over and over again. But I like all that I am able to safe-keep through my little black box, too.

Leave a Reply

