Loving, and how.

 
 
 
 
 

I discovered Etheree at Dan’s blog a few days back. It is a concept so beautiful, I am still in raptures. And the name? Etheree. Wow. To make matters more delightful, Dan’s poem added such calm, petal-like softness to its already simple beauty. Perhaps this is what encouraged me to write an etheree myself and see if I have it in me to make it a regular in this blog’s Poesie category.

 

Leave

the cup

and come here

closer to us,

me and the fire bright.

Walls are warm, my heart too.

Close that door behind you, do!

Look, the fire’s ablaze with the wind

the door’s let in oh-so shamelessly.

Come now, the cup overflows so, my love.

An etheree comprises of 10 lines. It begins with a one syllable line, increasing one syllable per line until the last line of ten syllables. The syllable count of the entire poem is 55. The syllabic structure, therefore, is 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10, and is unmetered and unrhymed.

22 thoughts on “Loving, and how.”

  1. You’ve created such a rich scene, full of warmth and texture, and all with a handful of carefully chosen syllables. I love it — even the graceful shape the words form.

  2. Hello Priya. I found you via a link in BronxBoy’s blog.

    I love this Etheree poem, I hadnt heard of this poem form and can’t wait to try one myself, although I can see it’s much harder than it looks.

    I also love your photos of “the land of the Bhils and Gonds” in India, especially your description of the man who “kept looking deep and deeper into your eyes.” I’m sure it must’ve been unnerving.

    1. Isn’t it an exciting form? I fell in love with it! Though I did chide myself for having begun writing this post initially, because as you notice, it isn’t easy to fit it all in and still retain the essence. I tried, and I am glad you found it worth appreciating.

      The tribal healer’s eyes. Yes. They had the quality in them only those people can, who know wisdoms very rare. It was a memorable experience indeed.

      I must thank you for not only visiting and reading, but also leaving a comment. It gladdens me to see such sweet words under my posts. 🙂

      Priya

  3. This is beautiful, Priya. I sat down a short while ago to try to write one, and it’s not easy.

    My apologies for being absent from your blog for so long, I plead ‘zombie mouse’ problems. I’ll try and catch up soon.

    1. Hey Val,

      Welcome back!

      I watched The Tale of Despereaux a few weeks back and wondered at what they’d shown there. The mice taught their children to cower, because that is what mice were supposed to do! Despereaux, sure enough (being the hero), doesn’t want to cower. Do zombie mice know they are destined to scamper around? Or are yours like Despereaux, who like to read books?

      Keep trying etheree. It does allow one to complete it, eventually.

      1. I can imagine our zombie mouse reading books. Maybe that’s why it’s hanging around (not literally hanging, I hope. Perish the thought…) as it’s honking up our combined office and library. Nearly all our books are in here… yes, you’re probably right. It’s reading the books and taking its time…

        Thank you so much, Priya, for telling me about The Tale of Despereaux. I’d never heard of it before and now I know what to buy my sister – and probably me!
        🙂

        I love that the etheree might ‘allows’ one to complete it eventually. That’s exactly how I feel about so many things.

    1. When you look at Despereaux, do remember that he loves books and that hence, your library just might be safe (if he and the zombie mouse are related), if not all that quiet. 🙂

  4. Hello! Thank for your leaving a comment on my blog! I thought I’d show you my appreciation and let you know that this poem of yours is beautiful and brings warmth to this cold Swedish winter.

    Happy New Year!

    Helen

    1. Hi Helen!

      Thank you for visiting! I am glad this poem could warm you up a little. Sweden must be freezing you all. 🙂

      And a very Happy New Year to you and yours!

      Priya

  5. Way cool. I struggle with poem-phobia, but I really enjoyed this poem. It is simple and straight forward, but the words blend to create a soft and lovely next of comfort. And when I say “simple,” I don’t mean easy to create. I mean simple to understand and relate to.

    1. Glad you liked it, Linda. To be able to see a poem-phobic appreciate poetry is arguably the best feeling of the day! Thank you for making my evening.

Leave a Reply

