Of relationships, onions, boats and negligence

Boats are a lovely concept. Besides being a useful one. Much like relationships. And a little like onions. How, you ask?

Onions are

a) useful

b) hardly lovely

c) enhance your experience (of food)

Boats are

a) useful

b) mostly lovely

c) enhance your experience (of work, leisure, sea/lake/pond/river-faring)

Relationships are

a) useful

b) generally lovely

c) enhance your experience (of life)

Sunken opportunities…neglected and defunct

Amazing as it is, there can be more on the list of similarities and almost-similarities. Consider this.  The various layers these concepts comprise are quite uncanny in their likeness. What layers? Onions, with their proverbial layers, need no more explanation, I hope. Otherwise I’ll have to consider banning you from reading my very-intelligent blog. (If you continue reading hereafter, you are herewith not-banned.) So then, relationships have layers too. The layer of genuine love covering that of reluctant resignation, perhaps covering that of deep fear. I don’t know. Relationships come in all sorts of layers, trust me. And a little unlike onions, they are usually very, very unpredictable sheaths of really unmanageable stuff. I mean, you can handle a little tear flow with the onions, right? How about exploring, chopping, uncovering the layers of a relationship? So, very difficult to predict. And copious amounts of tear-jerking.

And then take the boats. It’s a little difficult to see the connection, I know. Let me help. If you know a little about boats, you’ll know anyway. I know practically nothing about boats, but I know. See, the basic structure of the boat is shaped around the hull, which is the part that keeps the boat afloat. If you google the structure of a hull (which I did, to make my case stronger) you will see the intricate, sometimes layered pattern of this crucial bit that keeps these amazing concepts afloat. In this case, the sheaths, layers (also called backbones or ribs) are precision-based marvels, designed to succeed. Predictable, sometimes unpredictably prodigious, but layers nevertheless.

In my opinion, boats, relationships and onions are quite an awesome combination to prove that anything you consider trying your hand at, you better not underestimate it. Throw apathy out of that window you keep staring out of (or perhaps choosing not to stare from, because the Windows (of a plausible version) in the other line of sight keeps you busy enough). So when the connection is established between the three, consider this as well:

You neglect:

your onion – your food is devoid of the lovesome nutrition, taste, wholesomeness it provides

your relationship – your life is devoid of everything*

your boat – you are devoid of your life.

*well, mostly.

14 thoughts on “Of relationships, onions, boats and negligence”

    1. True. And copious amounts, too! Quote from the post”I mean, you can handle a little tear flow with the onions, right? How about exploring, chopping, uncovering the layers of a relationship? So, very difficult to predict. And copious amounts of tear-jerking.”

  1. I like this, a lot. I especially like the way you tied the three together in unexpected ways. You see things others don’t see. That’s both a blessing and a curse, isn’t it?

    1. Absolutely. It is a blessing. Can’t say much about curse, because the idea is to see the positives.. 🙂
      And am not too sure about seeing things others don’t see. I suppose most of us try NOT to.

      Thanks for finding time to stop by. And definitely for liking my post.

    1. That’s what metaphors should do. Unless they’re about sea-sickness and rides on choppy waters! Glad you liked it, Linda!

    1. Ouch! That’s a difficult question! I don’t think I can answer it. Except perhaps attempt to do it with the thought that when I envision all three, I think “layers”. That’s enough to begin the comparison, no?

  2. I like the analogy you have drawn. The layers. What happens when you neglect the three. I remember you spoke of these layers in one of our emails too.

    I feel I should mention though, that I love love my mom’s cooking and she rarely uses onions, if at all !

    1. Onions are overrated in the sense that their utility is considered to be so good, that people tend to overuse them. That’s hardly required. My mother doesn’t use onions much either! Except perhaps in stuff like non-veg curries and rajma/chana. But she’s the best cook ever. Mothers usually are.

Leave a Reply

